for a pair of Staffordshire china dogs. Yes, I got a bee in my bonnet at the flea market today. I was shopping with my mantel in mind today, specifically some fall themed stuff for it. I can’t seem to find all my fall swag this season.A gentleman was selling a pair of these collectables, but at a price I wasn’t willing to pay. I left his booth and still wanted the pair, so I tried my haggling skills and he only went down $2. So from that moment on, I was scheming  how to ‘make’ a pair. I thought about papermache but I figured wouldn’t have the patience to let the glue dry. The same for sculpting them out of clay. So in the end it was with fabric as pillows. They are a little funky but I think I got the china dog fever out of my head, for the moment. Here are some examples that inspired me: I also found some other treasures; I had to spray the frames white and I needed a paper cutting to complement the orange of the dogs’ coat. The white bowl has the sweetest scene inside it, which reminds me of a Lois Lensky illustration. Can you spot the kittens? Oh, if you are curious the man was asking $20, not that much but everything else I was buying was under $5, so it’s all relative. And I wanted a deal! 

